Fluid Mechanics and Acoustics Laboratory - UMR 5509

LMFA - UMR 5509
Laboratoire de Mécanique des Fluides et d’Acoustique
Lyon
France


Supervisory authorities

Our partners




Home > Research activities > Turbulence and Instabilities > Research activities > Flow control for material processing

Coupled convective phenomena Team

Convection and instabilities in presence of magnetic field

Convection and instabilities in presence of magnetic field

Hamda Ben Hadid, Daniel Henry, R. Touihri, S. Kaddeche, T. Mullin, A. Juel, T. Lyubimova

In the case of electrically conducting materials as semi-conductors, the control of convection during material processing can be obtained by applying a static or a rotating magnetic field.

The rotating magnetic field can be used to uniformize the solute concentration near the interface. Our studies in this field (collaborations with T. Lyubimova (Russia)) principally concern the action of the rotating magnetic field on the horizontal longitudinally heated cylindrical cavity, action on the convection and on the instabilities which are triggered [B15, A98].

The static magnetic field can be used to control the convection and the oscillatory instabilities in the melt in order to get better quality materials. Our studies in this field were numerous. The first studies concerned the characterization of the convection braking and flow modifications obtained by application of a magnetic field in horizontal parallelepipedic and cylindrical cavities which are longitudinally heated (collaboration with T. Mullin and A. Juel from university of Manchester (U.K.)) [A23, A29, A33, A34, A39, A50, A55].

We then developed studies to understand the stabilizing effect of the magnetic field on the flows. Different studies are concerned by situations where the applied temperature gradient is horizontal: stabilization by magnetic field of the flow instabilities in an infinite fluid layer (Hadley flow configuration studied by linear analysis in collaboration with S. Kaddeche from INSAT of Tunis (Tunisia)) [A34, A58, A59, A60, A63], in a transversally confined fluid layer (collaboration with T. Lyubimova from Perm (Russia)) [A90, A91], and in a parallelepipedic cavity (collaboration with Manchester) [A86, A87]. Another study is concerned by the stabilization by magnetic field of the Rayleigh-Bénard instabilities in cylindrical cavities and has been performed with a continuation method with R. Touihri (LAMSIN, Tunis) [A31, A40, A45, A47, A48, A52, A94, A100, A101].

PNG - 30.5 kb

Variation of the oscillatory thresholds ($Gr_c$) as a function of the magnetic field intensity ($Ha$) for a laterally heated three-dimensional cavity (Aspect ratios: longitudinal $A_x=4$, transverse $A_y=2$; $Pr=0.026$). Three orientations of the magnetic field are considered: vertical (+) (very strong stabilization), transverse (X) (strong stabilization), longitudinal (circles) (slowest stabilization) [A87].

PNG - 47.1 kb

Evolution of the three first Fourier modes (which are the more unstable in a cylindrical cavity heated from below) when a horizontal magnetic field is applied (horizontal direction on the figure). The figure gives the three modes $m=0$, $m=1$ and $m=2$ for $Ha=0$ (the modes $m=1$ et $m=2$ are defined to within a rotation), and the five unique possibilities for $Ha$ non zero, which correspond to orientated structures (the plots give the vertical velocity at mid-height in the cavity).

PNG - 33.3 kb

Stabilisation of the first three critical modes which appear in a cylindrical cavity heated from below with a free surface when a horizontal magnetic field is applied ($Ra_c$ as a function of $Ha$). The modes with the roll axis parallel to the magnetic field are less stabilized (the plots give the vertical velocity at mid-height in the cavity).

Laboratoire de Mécanique des Fluides et d'Acoustique - UMR 5509

LMFA - UMR 5509
Laboratoire de Mécanique des Fluides et d’Acoustique
Lyon
France


Nos tutelles

Nos partenaires




Accueil > Activités de Recherche > Turbulence et Instabilités > Contrôle des écoulements pour l’élaboration de matériaux

Équipe Phénomènes convectifs couplés

Convection et instabilités en présence de champ magnétique

Convection et instabilités en présence de champ magnétique

Hamda Ben Hadid, Daniel Henry, R. Touihri, S. Kaddeche, T. Mullin, A. Juel, T. Lyubimova

Dans le cas de matériaux électriquement conducteurs tels que les semi-conducteurs, le contrôle de la convection durant la phase d’élaboration du matériau peut être obtenu par l’application d’un champ magnétique statique ou tournant.

Le champ magnétique tournant permet d’uniformiser la concentration en soluté au voisinage de l’interface. Nos études en rapport avec cette thématique (collaborations avec T. Lyubimova (Russie)) concernent principalement l’action du champ tournant sur la cavité cylindrique horizontale différentiellement chauffée, action sur la convection et sur les instabilités qui se développent [B15, A98].

Le champ magnétique statique permet le contrôle de la convection et des instabilités oscillatoires au sein du bain fondu afin d’obtenir une meilleure qualité de matériaux. Nos travaux sur cette thématique ont été nombreux. Ils ont d’abord porté sur la caractérisation du freinage de la convection et des modifications de morphologie sous champ magnétique en cavité parallélépipédique ou cylindrique horizontale chauffée longitudinalement (collaboration avec T. Mullin et A. Juel de l’université de Manchester (U.K.)) [A23, A29, A33, A34, A39, A50, A55].

Nous avons ensuite développé nos études avec l’objectif de préciser l’action de stabilisation du champ magnétique sur les écoulements. Plusieurs directions ont été abordées : la stabilisation par champ magnétique des instabilités affectant l’écoulement dans une couche fluide infinie chauffée par un gradient de température horizontal (écoulement de Hadley étudié par analyse de stabilité linéaire en collaboration avec S. Kaddeche de l’INSAT de Tunis (Tunisie)) [A34, A58, A59, A60, A63], dans une couche confinée transversalement (collaboration avec T. Lyubimova de Perm (Russie)) [A90, A91], et enfin dans une cavité parallélépipédique (collaboration avec Manchester) [A86, A87], puis la stabilisation par champ magnétique des instabilités de Rayleigh-Bénard en cavité cylindrique (étude par méthode de continuation réalisée avec R. Touihri (LAMSIN, Tunis)) [A31, A40, A45, A47, A48, A52, A94, A100, A101].

PNG - 30.5 ko

Variation des seuils de transition vers un régime oscillatoire (Gr_c) en fonction de l’intensité du champ magnétique (Ha) pour une cavité tridimensionnelle chauffée latéralement (Rapports de forme : longitudinal A_x=4, transverse A_y=2 ; Pr=0.026). Trois directions du champ magnétique sont considérées : verticale (+) (très forte stabilisation), transverse (X) (forte stabilisation), longitudinale (cercles) (stabilisation la plus lente) [A87].

PNG - 47.1 ko

Evolution des trois premiers modes de Fourier (qui sont les modes les plus instables dans une cavité cylindrique chauffée par le bas) lorsqu’on applique un champ magnétique horizontal (direction horizontale sur la figure). Le schéma représente les trois modes m=0, m=1 et m=2 pour Ha=0 (les modes m=1 et m=2 étant définis à une rotation près), puis les cinq uniques possibilités pour Ha non nul, qui correspondent à des structures orientées (vues donnant la vitesse verticale dans le plan horizontal central de la cavité).

PNG - 33.3 ko

Stabilisation des trois premiers modes critiques apparaissant dans une cavité cylindrique chauffée par le bas avec surface libre par application d’un champ magnétique horizontal (Ra_c fonction de Ha). Les modes dont l’axe des rouleaux est parallèle au champ magnétique sont les moins stabilisés (vues donnant la vitesse verticale dans le plan horizontal central de la cavité).