Fluid Mechanics and Acoustics Laboratory - UMR 5509

LMFA - UMR 5509
Laboratoire de Mécanique des Fluides et d’Acoustique
Lyon
France


Supervisory authorities

Our partners




Home > Pages perso > Mees Loic > In-Line Holography

Evaporating droplets Lagrangian tracking

In turbulent flow, a droplet of intermediairy size is submitted to velocity fluctuations, and sometimes temperature and concentration, that modify its trajectory and its evaporation rate. A Lagrangian approach is then suitable to studies evaporation of such droplets. It consists in tracking droplets along their own trajectories which are, by nature, three-dimensional. Such 3D tracking can be done by using Digital In-line Holography. Associated to a reconstruction method based on an ’inverse problems’ approach, the technique provides the highly accurate measurements of droplet position and size, with a large enough probe volume as required for this phase change study.

A quazi-homogeneous and isotropic turbulence is generated in a small volume of about 5cm side, at the intersection of synthetic jets produced by 6 woofers. Ether droplets are generated by means of a piezo-electric injector. Their initial diameters ranges from 60 to 150 µm, depending on the injection head and atomisation mode that are selected. The droplets tracking by digital in-line holography is performed by means of a continuous laser (2W) and a high speed camera (6kHz), placed at about 50 cm from the droplets.

a droplet hologram consists of a set of concentric rings. This interferometric pattern contains information on both the droplet size and its distance from the sensor. The vapor wake, produced by the droplet is clearly visible on the holograms. Its orientation is related to the orientation of the relative velocity, the air velocity as viewed by the droplet.

Inverse problem approach reconstruction

Such small droplets are perfectly spherical and they can be considered as opaque objects due to their large distance tothe sensor. As a consequence a droplet can be fully described by only 4 parameters x , y , z and d representing its 3 coordinates and its diameters. The inverse problem restitution approach consists in comparaing the experimental hologram to a model hologram which is a function of the 4 parameters. In the present conditions, a scalar diffraction model for an opaque disk, with fraunhofer approximation is enough. The 4 parameters that minimize the difference between the model and the experimental hologram are considered as a measure of the 3D location ans the size of the droplet. After one droplet has been detected and measured, the best fit model can be subtracted to the hologram in order to facilitate the next droplet detection. The vapor contribution to the hologram is clearly visible on the residual image, as a wake but also as an excessively bright center and the 2 or 3 first rings that have not completely vanished after the best fit hologram subtraction

4D trajectory sample

Laboratoire de Mécanique des Fluides et d'Acoustique - UMR 5509

LMFA - UMR 5509
Laboratoire de Mécanique des Fluides et d’Acoustique
Lyon
France


Nos tutelles

Nos partenaires




Accueil > Pages perso > Mees Loic > Holographie en ligne

Suivi Lagrangien de goutte en cours d’évaporation

Dans un écoulement turbulent une goutte de taille intermédiaire est soumise à des fluctuations de vitesses, parfois de température et de concentration, qui modifient sa trajectoire et son taux d’évaporation. C’est pourquoi il est préférable d’observer l’évaporation de telles gouttes de manière lagrangienne, c’est à dire en les suivants le long de leurs trajectoires qui sont par nature tri-dimensionnelles. L’holographie numérique en ligne permet de réaliser ce suivi en 3D à l’aide d’un montage simple et robuste. Associée à une méthode de restitution de type ’problème inverse’, cette technique permet d’atteindre la précision de mesure requise sur la position et le diamètre des gouttes, dans une volume de mesure suffisamment grand.

Une turbulence quasi-homogène et isotrope d’intensité variable est générée dans un volume d’environ 5 cm de coté, à l’intersection de jets synthétiques produits par 6 haut-parleurs. Les gouttelettes d’ether sont produites par un injecteur piezo-électrique. Leurs diamètres initiaux varie de 60 à 150 µm selon l’injecteur et le mode d’injection choisis. Le suivi de ces gouttelettes par holographie est réalisé à l’aide d’un laser continu (2W) et d’une caméra rapide (6kHz) placé à environ 50 cm des gouttelettes.

L’hologramme d’une gouttelette prend la forme d’anneaux concentriques. Cette figure d’interférence continent à la fois des informations sur la taille de la goutte et sur sa distance au capteur. Les panaches de vapeur produits par les gouttelettes sont visible sur les hologrammes, leur orientations nous indique celle de la vitesse relative, la vitesse de l’air "vue" par la goutte

Reconstruction par une approche problème inverse

Les gouttelettes de cette tailles sont parfaitement sphériques et à cette distance du capteur elles peuvent être considérées comme des objets opaques. Elles peuvent ainsi être décrites par 4 paramètres x , y, z et d, soit 3 coordonnées et un diamètre. La restitution par approche inverse consiste à comparer l’hologramme expérimental à un hologramme modèle, fonction de ces 4 paramètres. Dans ces conditions expérimentales, le modèle est un modèle scalaire de diffraction pour un disque opaque, dans l’approximation de Fraunhofer (les panaches de vapeurs ne sont pas inclus dans ce modèle). Les paramètres qui permettent de minimiser les différences entre hologramme modèle et hologramme expérimental sont considérés comme une mesure de la position 3D et de la taille de la goutte. Après qu’une goutte ait été détectée et mesurée, l’hologramme modèle de plus grande vraisemblance peut-être soustrait à l’hologramme pour faciliter la détection d’autres gouttes. La contribution à l’hologramme de la vapeur qui n’est pas prise en compte dans le modèle apparaît clairement sur l’image résiduelle, sous la forme d’un sillage mais aussi sous la forme d’un point lumineux central et de 2 ou 3 anneaux qui sont toujours présent après soustraction du modèle

Quelques trajectoires 4D